I originally wrote this on July 28th after an amazing victory by the Dodgers during a run that would lead them to the playoffs which begin for them today in Atlanta.  I cleaned it up a bit for my blog.  I hope you enjoy.  It's about my passion for Baseball, and the amazing stories that come from following Sports.  I also give my respect to the incomparable Vin Scully.

Puig takes the ball deep for a walk-off home run on an 0-1 count on a Sunday.  It was a beautiful summer day when the race for the pennant was getting hotter.  Baseball is just mesmerizing to me.  It is a hypnotic and mesmerizing game.  It is to me a picture of perfection.  The score that day was nothing-nothing for 11 innings playing out like nothing had happened.  The pitching though was as solid as the hitting was not solid.  In Baseball, good pitching is sometimes rendered invisible by strikeouts and undisciplined swings and “what could-have beens” like a deep fly ball dying at the warning track.  

Reading the score on my phone, I expressed muted joy at Costco.  “They won again!”, I yelped to my adoring significant other.  And somehow I knew this would happen.  I knew it years ago as I grew up hanging on to every rhythm of the National Pastime.  I was born from a French mother and a Moroccan father and Baseball was the last game that they thought about teaching me.  After 25 years of me being glued to the television set watching my Dodgers, my dad still doesn't understand the concept of an "out".  I used Baseball to identify myself as an American kid in Arleta, located in the east San Fernando Valley off the I-5 Freeway exit of Van Nuys Boulevard.  I used to beg for time to accelerate so I could sit down in front of the TV—my little slice of joy where Vin graces the airwaves with incomparable elegance.  It feels now like I always knew a day like yesterday would come.  

Puig is a star today, an unknown yesterday, a question mark tomorrow like hope for a happy eternity.  Baseball is one of a kind as the clock is finally shut off.  Baseball just happens slowly but with significant crashes like a judge’s mallet.  I thought it was a 2-0 count not 0-1 as I recounted the story to my sweetie.  I would tell this to her but she would laugh at the idea that this meant anything to her.   The pitch was such a bad pitch to throw in that count.  It was tailor-made to be walloped with glee.  How can a game so filled with zeroes end so easily?  It ended on a nothing pitch that only a beleaguered reliever could throw.  

Baseball as a game is a "head-scratcher" full of second-guessing, of sizing up, of repetition and agonizing frustrations.  In the "Majors", the players all have a gift unlike any other.  It’s a game where a lazy fly ball can be plucked from the sky with such ease it makes the recipient look like they never worked a moment in their lives to get where they were.  

It is almost like he was born on the outfield grass born to play the game.  In Puig’s maiden game, he unleashed a throw that still has Baseball fans buzzing.  He screamed that he will be grabbing your attention exactly at that moment and if you haven’t stopped what you were doing you better re-prioritize your life in that instant.  The Dodger season was woeful - a dreadful carcass - before Puig’s star was newly born.  He had the bat, speed, and strength of an ox, a cheetah, a bear all tied into one Cuban young man.  Even if his career or season for that matter does not end magnificently, we will always talk about his mythic first several weeks in the pros.  

I threw down my computer bag, and unpacked my computer.  “He’s been through a lot lately”, I thought and followed it up with, “Haven’t we all!”  I thumbed my password and logged onto my spotty work internet connection. “Lots to do today”, I thought, “but I haven’t yet seen the highlight of Puig’s walk-off” as I spent my Sunday doing what families do - maintaining a household full of love, food, and dishwasher soap.  My email had a link to the homer so I clicked as if my fingers were feverish.  

Vin calls the play “and a high drive into deep left field...and that will do it for Puig!”  Puig flipped his bat, paused with swagger, and ran through the bases knowing that the game had ended with the Dodgers on top because of a meatball of a pitch that he ate with gusto.  He slid into home causing bellyaches across the country.  There will be more days like this: people will talk and talk about Puig and his laser throws, his uncanny eye, and his mighty muscle.  They will talk about this moment one day out of the blue: "Remember when Puig came up and the Dodgers went from last place to first place".  They will talk about his swagger and errors too.   They will talk about him sliding instead of standing and standing instead of sliding.  They will talk about what he should have done until he does the unbelievable like on that one Sunday afternoon.  

Baseball is always filled with intrigue in that there is no clock.  The count changes continuously but time is not a factor unless you're counting the seconds off a stop watch to measure someone's speed around the bases.  Baseball is filled with situations that just come up out of the blue while you were breathing in the air from the atmosphere.  Puig is a household name today: a star Dodger right fielder for hopefully a long, long time for Dodger fans.   I clicked on the highlight over and over again incredulous at the thought that a long, scoreless game can just go away at the flick of the wrist.   I watched the highlight over and over until I believed it, and relished it.  And there I realized a few things.  It was an 0-1 count, not 2-0.  This is important for a pitcher as he selects his pitch.  I realized that the Dodgers will drive home happy and filled with happiness.  This game may or may not lead them to the World Series but it will be frozen in time as an unbelievable feat.  The game of Baseball goes on while we daydream of walk-offs and roaring cheers.  

selim
10/3/2013 10:07:55 am

So excited for tonight's game! It's been four long years since I've seen the Dodgers play in the post-season. Hoping it doesn't end forgettable. I have to edit this post again. Hate writing about things I'm so idiotically charged to, lol.

Reply
selim
10/5/2013 04:46:20 am

I'm going to use my blog to vent or celebrate or what have you because writing makes me feel better. Last night was terrible because they kept on getting runners on but hit into three or four double plays. Uribe looked silly striking out with the tying runner at third. I disagreed with putting in Withrow in a close game that early. Dee was so close to stealibg the base and probably did beat out the throw but it was bang-bang. Still not sure they could've hit Kimbrel to tie the game. Hate losing a Greinke game because I have no confidence in Ryu and especially Nolasco. I hope I'm wrong. It was idiotic for Mattingly to pitch to Heyward just for a lefty-lefty matchup although I like Paco. I hope that they can get to Teheran at home and take this series in L.A.

Reply
Selim
10/7/2013 05:35:36 am

Last night was a thing of beauty. It's so wonderful to see an offense come alive like that. It looked like months of pent up frustration were released by the Dodgers on the Braves pitchers. It was a thing of beauty. Tonight, I hope we're gearing up for the NLCS! I'd like to see them get to Freddy Garcia because he's not very good anymore. I have very little confidence in Nolasco but when he hits his spots, he could be great. He's probably so nervous right now pitching his first game in the playoffs and being from the L.A. area. I hope he doesn't shit the bed. I will hate it if the Dodgers have to go all the way back to Atlanta, Kershaw or not. Nobody wants to be in a close low scoring game with Kimbrel waiting in the wings. Can't wait for the game at 6 pm.

Reply
Selim
10/8/2013 04:14:40 am

Just a picture perfect end to that game last night with Uribe's majestic homer and Kenley striking out the side in the Ninth. I was so surprised that Mattingly would pitch Kershaw on 3 days rest but he did and barely got away with it. He really does some head-scratching things sometimes but I think the team responds to him so that's good. Every manager does dumb shit but thet know more about the game than most anybody. I'm so excited for the NLCS on Friday. Like their chances against either the Cards or Pirates but who knows. Let's bring the World Series back to the beautiful City of Angels!

Reply
Selim
10/13/2013 12:18:42 am

Well, here we are, Dodgers are down 0-2 to a formidable Cardinals team who have still not thrown out there their Ace Wainright. Not looking good for the Boys in Blue. If it weren't a few little, fundamental things this series could have been 2-0 Dodgers and the World Series would have been just a matter of time.The problem of course is that their bats went ice cold especially with runners in scoring position. I have to say that Greinke and Kershaw outpitched their competition. That's for sure. The end result seems to be "wait until next year". I've been doing that for 25 years though and I hate it and I want to give up this foolish passion of watching rich men get richer with gloves and balls and bats. I'm stuck. I love the game so dearly because of the moments and drama it creates. It inspires me to live a magical life. So, it's a good thing that the Dodgers are coming home for two and hopefully three. All we can hope for is the bats to wake up and Ryu and Nolasco to pitch their asses off. I hope Hanley comes back healthy. I hope Puig can stop pressing. I hope Mattingly could stop doing stupid shit like playing for one run all of th damn time. It's criminal that he took out A Gon in a tied game to get Dee in scoring position. He didn't even run. In later innings, not only did they lose his bat, they lost Hanley's too because they pitched around him to get to Michael Young who was always overrated playing in a hitter's park and whom is now near the end of his career. And what can you say about Carlos Beltran except that thry should put him in t he Hall of Fame before this series ends. I wish I could have watched him play more often and hate that I'm watching him now, destroy my team.

Reply
Selim
10/15/2013 02:51:17 am

Ryu's pitching performance last night was legendary. What a beautiful game he threw keeping the Cards off balance all night. I loved seeing Puig launch that double even though the show-boating in the beginning sucked. It was amazing to see him sprint for a stand-up triple in any case. They lucked into that first run though with Mellis's lazy flyball turning into a double. Love A-gon's at-bat and the passion he showed going into second. Kenley is such a beast. It's almost a given that the opposing team will retire quietly to their dugout with a loss when the Dodgers have a ninth inning lead. If they win this NLCS or not I will always be fond of the 2013 Dodgers. I hope Kemp and Bills can come back healthy and we go at it again next year. Would love for them to lock up Kershaw and Hanley too. I can't believe what a difference a couple years make. Those McCourt years seem so different although his teams won too. I love the Dodgers. Can't wait for tonight. Nolasco will hopefully keep them in the game but I see this as a high-scoring game. We'll see.

Reply
Selim
10/15/2013 03:35:32 am

Puig hit a triple...stupid fingers typing lies, lol. I hate typos and other errors because I'm OCD like that.

Reply
Selim
10/16/2013 03:54:15 am

Well, Game 4 came and went and the Dodgers have no margin for error. It's win or go home. Greinke should be ridiculous again but the Dodgers just don't have able bodies. Hanley's injury destroyed this offense because he went from mashing the ball to the mash unit. All I have to say is I'm sick of the Cardinals, and their tired charade that their a bunch of classy dudes. Oh well, that's Baseball. Hopefully the Dodgers aren't desimated by injuries next year and they can finally bring the World Series back to L.A. For them to do it this year will take a huge comeback and realistically, they're not hitting and especially in the clutch. If they can get an offensive spark then watch out though. In any case, it has been a great season and it's a great time for the Dodger franchise. I have a special post lined up for the season's finale whenever that may be. Hopefully not today.

Reply
Selim
10/18/2013 07:59:46 am

Game 6. Kershaw is going. Hanley is out. A-Gon crushed in Game 5.

Reply
Selim
11/5/2013 09:44:20 am

Dodgers got dismantled in Game 6...Kershaw got smashed...the end...no soup for you! Cardinals got beat in 6 games by the mighty Red Sox which went from last to first from 2012 to 2013. And there was a bunch of drunk Red Sox fans running around which is always comedy gold. I loved the narrative: the first time they won in Boston since 1918. Give me a f'ing break, they've won 3 times in 9 years. They're the epitome of spoiled Baseball fans. The Basesball Gods hates me. I'm going to cry right now.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Selim Bouhamidi Sketches: Selim's blog. 
     
    Who am I?  
    Writer and thinker, Urban Planner and Anthropologist.  Lover of sports, movies, and music.  Had to get lost a couple of times to find my way but I am home every step I take.    

    What are sketches?
    These are sketches, portraits, graceful words about the grace all around us.  I want to show you this world through my eyes.  These are all working pieces because I am a work in progress or constantly working.  These aren't meant to be perfect.  Sometimes I write out every emotion I have even if they mess with my readers.  I am who I am.  These are the thoughts that keep me up at night.

    I love Magpie and J.

    Archives

    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All