This weekend I'm happy to say that my beautiful Magpie is now my fiancee.  I wrote this letter to her on January 9th, 2013.  She is my world, my strength, my hope, my dreams, my love.

To my sweet love:

I feel that I've searched every corner, every depth for love, running in circles like a dog chasing its tail.  I've tried to add the colors to that little patch of earth where I fit.  I fit in this world with you and that's all I ever wanted.  It has felt like a life mission that has been changed forever since I've met you.  I now know love and my direction has since changed.  I need to now nurture that love, to grow strong through our love.  I feel that this love can take down the ceilings that we've been trapped by.  My mind has wandered and wandered in search - a search throughout my existence for someone like you.   And for once I'm not exhausted.  I'm refreshed.  I feel like what a marathon runner might feel after finally stopping at the end to take a breath soaking in the moment and the accomplishment. But what I've accomplished is a new beginning.  I see our love as a series of new beginnings and not something that can grow old and wither away.  Love, I believe, needs conflict for this to occur because a new reality begins once the old reality is patched up.  I know that troubles will not always go away in the face of love.  Love grows when these troubles are addressed, acknowledged and worked on. Of course this takes faith but faith is not clear-cut and dry - it grows sometimes out of doubts.  All I can do is offer you my soul because in your hands I feel safe.  I see the gentleness in your heart through the softness and calmness in your eyes.  I watch with awe as your mouth curls into a smile, transforming your attentive and intense look into the carefree sweetness of youth and hope.  I want to spend the rest of my life trying to describe your beauty. Every tomorrow brings me closer to you.  Every day brings with it a new clue to the mystery of your beauty.  

Thank you for the happiness you have given me.

 

Selim
9/8/2013 08:51:21 pm

I should have wrote, "I'm happy to say that this past weekend, my beautiful Magpie accepted my hand in marriage".

Reply
Margarita
4/14/2017 10:26:53 pm

Liar

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Selim Bouhamidi Sketches: Selim's blog. 
     
    Who am I?  
    Writer and thinker, Urban Planner and Anthropologist.  Lover of sports, movies, and music.  Had to get lost a couple of times to find my way but I am home every step I take.    

    What are sketches?
    These are sketches, portraits, graceful words about the grace all around us.  I want to show you this world through my eyes.  These are all working pieces because I am a work in progress or constantly working.  These aren't meant to be perfect.  Sometimes I write out every emotion I have even if they mess with my readers.  I am who I am.  These are the thoughts that keep me up at night.

    I love Magpie and J.

    Archives

    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All