R.I.P. Insta, Detes, Jaut, Big Joe and all of the other soldiers we have lost in a revolution gone awry.

“All of my life, I wanted to talk to you to make this confession to you.”  My name is Selim Bouhamidi, and in 1995 I was fifteen going on sixteen, a Junior in High School and I was “Purp 1”.  Today, I am myself and no one can take that away from me.  Yesterday, in 1991-1999, I was “Purp 1”, Graffiti Vandal.  The following is the conversation I would have today with myself had it been possible in 1995 when I was 15.  I was about 6’0”, handsome, thin, tall, and wore my hair short.  I was silent.  I spoke to no one unless I was approached.  I knew my mission in life was big.  I was not going to let some goon, some police officer, some idiot take that away from me.  I am terribly shy and nervous in large crowds.  I am 34 years old now planning Southern California Cities and helping build the infrastructure of our communities.  When I was fifteen, I was filled with contempt and angst using that energy to write on other people’s property.  I am saddened by it now but I was looking for space and a place that I could fit in.  Graffiti was my way to build allies because life is a struggle when you are a poor immigrant, a loner, a manic-depressive.  This is a story for all of those lost kids looking to make something of themselves.  This is also a story about Cops and Robbers.  I will present it to myself when I was a fifteen year old boy who grew up too fast because he had to.

“You know, Purp, you’re going to make it out of this”.  “No one can hold you back but yourself”.  “There is nothing wrong with seeming older than your age”.  “Everyone knows you’re a goofball at heart”.  “Remember this, Purp, the most important thing in this life is family”.  “Remember that those who have done the most devastation are not any of your friends.”  “They’re people who have the law on their side”.  “Remember that”. “This is your story”.  “Let it be told”.

“So you never met your grandparents so you look up to all these older folks living in this Trailer Park”.  “There’s nothing wrong with that.”  “So you got stopped by the Cops walking home from the mall really late.  You wear baggy, sagging pants and you have an intense look.”  “ So the lady stopped to help you out and got scared and left”.  “Don’t get mad at the way that people look at you.  Worry about yourself and finding peace and love”.  “No one can be successful without struggle, Purp”.

“Believe me Purp, there will come a time when you could care less about Graff fame”.  “It will sound like a joke to you but it isn’t”.  “Purp, your life could only be led by one person and that's yourself so trust yourself”.  “Self-esteem will come with experience and in due time”.  “People enjoy being around you".  "They do so because you’re laid back and not excitable”.  “You stay quiet until someone hits upon a subject that you’re passionate about like Sports.”  “That will remain with you”.  “You are angry because you are timid and want to play Baseball".  "It is your dream to be a pitcher: first on the Aztecs and one day on the Dodgers”.  “There’s bigger and better things in life than Sports”.  “Use this opportunity in the Graff scene to learn how to network because this will be a critical skill when you are older”.  “You’ll see that the people that matter most could care less about how you look”.

“When you go about your tagging, you take it very seriously”.  “One day you will be taken seriously”.  “Today, you are fifteen years old, experiencing your first crushes and first close friendships”.  “Believe me, Purp, one day you will find true love when you least expect it”.  “I see that you have that mag and you enjoy the pieces, the tags and the throw-ups”.  “You don’t have to hide it in that closet”.  “Your house will never get raided because you’re not a bad guy”.  “Sometimes, they raid taggers’ houses to confiscate illegal drugs and guns  and to put an end to petty crimes".  "It's called Broken Windows".  “Some cops are like robbers though, you know, looking to repossess your stuff”.  "You'll have it happen to you and you will get over it".  “You’ll see that one day a Palm Desert Police Officer is going to look after you and guide you away from trouble in her own way”.  “The police are painfully aware that you are fifteen and have temper issues and some disturbed influences”.  “Just keep aspiring to be better, Purp”.  “Soon you will find a magazine that will inspire you to write poetry".  "You will also find one that will help you create your own geometrical style that will cause a stir in this local Graff scene”.

“So you say that you love the cool late nights with a backpack full of spray paint and a container full of fat caps.  So you like the smell of paint fumes and the rush and exhilaration.  So you can’t wait until the can is emptied out, with the marble rattling in the can and with paint dripping on your hands.  So you like to cup that china marker in your hand and getting landmarks”.  “So you like to explore Downtown Palm Springs alone with your mean streak looking for spots that are hard to get to and won’t get buffed”.  “So you like to surprise your friends and bust out with a big tag on the window front.”  “So you weep at night because you’re so afraid of the legal troubles you’re facing”.  “Things work out, they always do”.

“Someday you will need to stop burying all those feelings inside yourself.”  “That is your biggest problem”.  “Don’t be afraid to talk to people even if you sometimes reveal too much”.  “You’ll one day use your writing to resolve all of these conflicts you have felt”.  “You always walk around with those headphones listening to Hip Hop and Jazz”.  “Music will be your best ally in life”.  “With the resources you might have been a musician”.  “You love riding in your friend’s Gallant blasting the B.U.M.S and Nas while driving down the strip wishing that you will have a car of your own one day - just to ride”.  “You’re tired of having to walk to the mall when Mom's car doesn't work”.  “You’re tired of that swamp cooler that is very ineffective when it’s 118 outside”.  “You’re tired of only having a few bucks in your pocket”.  “You’ll see that your best memories will not involve money”.  “Enjoy your youth and the friendships that you make today because when you’re working hard you’ll feel all alone”.

“Purp, do you understand that Graff is keeping you from exploding”.  “Purp, do you understand that you’re building skills and you don’t even know it”.  “Purp, people love to take advantage of others especially if they’re nice”.  “Purp, you're nice but you have this tough background living in one of the roughest neighborhoods in the Los Angeles area”.  “That will never leave you”.  “You made it out of there – Pacoima/Arleta are serious neighborhoods to have grown up in”.  “Now, learn and enjoy the good moments and remember that you can’t change the bad things until you have the position to do so”.

“Purp, all that damage that you caused in your teens resulted in a few buckets of paint, the cost of replacing a few etched windows and mirrors, and an endless amount of grief for your loving parents”.  “Purp, you have so much to offer to this world”.  “You’ve seen the margins of Cities and found peace there where so many felt depravity and hurt”.  “Those people you’ve seen on your missions come from broken places”.  “Purp, it will one day be your job to repair these places”.  “One day, you will see, it will all make sense”.  “You will rest your eyes at night and see all the Pieces that you wanted to do come alive in the places that you build.”  “You will one day put down your spray cans to pick up a pen and write Rap lyrics.”  “You will put that pen down to work hard and find yourself out of poverty”.  “You will get straight A’s from UCLA when some of your fellow students went through college in a daze and all hung-over”. “Remember that all that damage that Graffiti has caused are tiny in comparison to this story of Cops and Robbers”.

Cops largely protect the interests, rights and property of the moneyed: people who have something, or some position, some standing in society.  In large part, cops do not represent the communities in which everyday folks live.  I say this because otherwise we would have been able to prevent the drug madness, crime, and the killings of our young, innocent people.  Cops are many times broken people as well, rescued from some war or some tragedy of their own.  The Robbers in this case do not wear masks.  They are executives at large Banks.  They went to Ivy League schools and partied their lives away while getting promoted every year.  They had golden parachutes and government bailouts.  With the law on their side, they can cause communities to be devastated by unemployment mercilessly.  With the law on their side, they can whip people into a frenzy like the Devil does his minions.  This story about cops and robbers is an ongoing saga with a minutia of initials and money mystification that results in some people getting obscenely rich while other get devastatingly poor in the United States of America – the country that I love to no end.  It is also the Country of big debt, big military, and privatization.  It is the place where the Twin Towers can fall and Wall Street can continue to pump away doing what it does – keeping money in the hands of a few people.  In 2008, the economy collapsed and the money scattered all over the place into the greedy hoofs of pigs while a young family can't afford milk, gas and bread.  

"Purp, I would say, keep thinking about religion and God".  "Remember that Jesus Christ was a rebel who was crucified: he was handled in his time and age like a serious criminal was.  He was crucified on a cross while folks in society rallied around him pointing their finger disgustingly at just another criminal."

*Tagging is a costly issue because there are few legitimate places for graffiti to take place.  Cities should have designated areas along the highway which are regulated by police for serious Graff Artists to do their work and to guide taggers to become better artists.  I got into Graffiti because I wanted to be creative and loved the written word and script.  I feel that this appreciation for script is being lost in our society.  When we lose our cultural traditions and institutions because of laziness and apathy, who has really done the damage to our society.

Selim
9/15/2013 01:33:29 am

I remember when I was coming up and about 18, I used to love finding "Toys" to try to teach them what this Graff thing was all about. All "toys" become something in society. Might as well guide them away from non-sense. I hope to one day dialogue with police officers and others to make these places that we all dream existed. It'll get done.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Selim Bouhamidi Sketches: Selim's blog. 
     
    Who am I?  
    Writer and thinker, Urban Planner and Anthropologist.  Lover of sports, movies, and music.  Had to get lost a couple of times to find my way but I am home every step I take.    

    What are sketches?
    These are sketches, portraits, graceful words about the grace all around us.  I want to show you this world through my eyes.  These are all working pieces because I am a work in progress or constantly working.  These aren't meant to be perfect.  Sometimes I write out every emotion I have even if they mess with my readers.  I am who I am.  These are the thoughts that keep me up at night.

    I love Magpie and J.

    Archives

    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All