These are selected poems from a poetry book I'm working on.  The book was an idea I had in 2007 and I've picked it up again recently.  The book is about revolution, about high stakes, about life in general.  Many of these poems are raw.  I throw words together to elicit reactions even if the details are left out.  I want to stir people into action.  I want people to get upset with me and everyone around them and ultimately the place they are currently in.  I want people to pity themselves and the people they have become.  I want them to emerge with focus and purpose.  I write to bring people into a state of self-observation.  I want to cause pain and then healing.  I hope I've accomplished this.  I believe in good, in peace eventually overcoming the battles we undergo.  I see writing as my space of hope.  I hope that reading these poems help in the healing that is needed to overcome oppression and the tired routines of a capitalist run lifestyle.

Lincoln's Place Mat

All these days
To wrap up night in
Another day and night gone.
Throwing clothes off to a
Big bunch in your place.
Memory is just blank
Steaks, cold steak
Hot stakes, big stakes
Hot, high, shoot
For low places.
Dice game
Slug, pain
Lincoln's place mat
Where freedom
Violently fizzles.


Alone

Looks like big city
No lights, no lights and
Nobody's home:
Man alone.
Looks like big fight:
Big old robbery.
But no one knows
The trail home
The tale's own
Statement:
25 years
To life 
Sentence.
Period.
Life as 
You know it
Gone
You write your own story
Man, all alone.


Back Yard

Out there
Way back
Big yard
Big dog
Big and hard
Stare down
Barn yard
Storm out
Back yard
Where big bullies
Play with 
Dead dogs
Like Dominoes
Big back yard.


Billionaire

Oh, you got all the money!
Need to say that
Vegas, baby, is billions a day
Of people's hard earn pay.
I want to shut down
Vegas, just for a day
So things go lopsided
In the good old US of A.
I noticed that they shut down
The government. Priorities baby!
But listen to that sound
All of that light buzzing
All of that hype n' cussing
All of those slots singing
Sin City and peekaboo
For a thought
That don't make pennies.
Billionaire says something
And all of your service
Workers will pay
Big time, big time!
All of these flowers to crush
They keep my factories at bay!
Oh, that's silly! You mean
Taking and taking
Until Katrina hits
Has nothing to do
With stakes getting higher
And my ass getting hotter.
Billionaire has nothing but
Nothing to tell me
As he makes my living
For Vegas, one smile 
And pay check away.




Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Selim Bouhamidi Sketches: Selim's blog. 
     
    Who am I?  
    Writer and thinker, Urban Planner and Anthropologist.  Lover of sports, movies, and music.  Had to get lost a couple of times to find my way but I am home every step I take.    

    What are sketches?
    These are sketches, portraits, graceful words about the grace all around us.  I want to show you this world through my eyes.  These are all working pieces because I am a work in progress or constantly working.  These aren't meant to be perfect.  Sometimes I write out every emotion I have even if they mess with my readers.  I am who I am.  These are the thoughts that keep me up at night.

    I love Magpie and J.

    Archives

    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All