The Pleasant Quiet

Today, I feel awake
To the beautiful quiet.
She gives what I take
And she makes what I give.
She fiddles with every
Sense inside my heart like a pet -
              A pampered pet.
She strikes me still with her beauty - 
With mouth-open wonder
She is my hope and
I look for her in
Figure-less folds - these
Velvet-crushed up memories and
In all of this,
I search for something
I can hold on to.
She is placed there
Waiting to kiss me
Goodbye, sweet sullen Goodbye
I'm left with empty "why's" - 
Questions keep cursing me.
The pleasant quiet
When I rest my head by
Our pillows' gentle lull.
Maggie is quiet, shuffling about
And I watch and turn and 
Take a restful breath.
Those eyelid-heavy laughs,
By our quiet bed.
I yearn for the night
When my stars can align
To form a simple impression
In my head: there's a pleasant quiet
Waiting by my side
And sleep is 
Maggie's playground tonight.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Selim Bouhamidi Sketches: Selim's blog. 
     
    Who am I?  
    Writer and thinker, Urban Planner and Anthropologist.  Lover of sports, movies, and music.  Had to get lost a couple of times to find my way but I am home every step I take.    

    What are sketches?
    These are sketches, portraits, graceful words about the grace all around us.  I want to show you this world through my eyes.  These are all working pieces because I am a work in progress or constantly working.  These aren't meant to be perfect.  Sometimes I write out every emotion I have even if they mess with my readers.  I am who I am.  These are the thoughts that keep me up at night.

    I love Magpie and J.

    Archives

    October 2013
    September 2013
    August 2013

    Categories

    All